Hokkaido: Quick Update

It’s my second night in Hokkaido and I finally get access to Wifi! There was no wifi in the hotel I stayed at yesterday, so the whole family just hung out in my room over tea and convenience store snacks. Today we didn’t hang out in the hotel… everyone’s too busy on their phones. The downside of internet = less family bonding time..

image

Yum~ Japanese baked pudding. It tastes like the creme caramel that Milktea and I used to bake. By the way, Hokkaido yogurt is delicious! It tastes like the original tart frozen yogurt at PinkBerry.

We didn’t do much yesterday. We arrived at the Hokkaido airport at 1:30pm, and it was another 3 hour ride to our hotel. We had dinner, then used the hotel hot springs. That basically wrapped up day 1. The thing about Hokkaido is that it’s such a large island that we spend a lot of time travelling on the road. The climate and trees here remind me of Vancouver. I believe that they are at similar latitudes on the globe, and they both have temperate climates.

Today we were supposed to get a hot air balloon ride, but due to bad weather (rain and wind… darn the typhoon that just left Taiwan and is making it’s way up to Japan now), that had to be cancelled… I was really looking forward to that too! It would’ve been something else that I could cross off my bucket list, but alas… We ended up going to a garden to look at flowers, had lavender soft serve (best soft serve ever!), visited an indoor market that sold edible raw corn, alpaca milk caramel, and deer meat, then to the hotel. That’s where I am right now. We are currently in 夕張, this really small town on some mountain in Hokkaido. We went for a walk after dinner tonight (dinner was amazing… there was AYCE cantaloupe, and king crab), and there was nobody on the streets. We passed by an abandoned hospital, and it felt like a horror movie. The hot spring at this hotel wasn’t as good as last night’s, but it was still very relaxing. Unfortunately Milktea injured her leg right before this trip, so she wasn’t able to join us for hot springs. :( I feel so bad for her!!

image

That’s a Polaroid photo taken at the garden today. Unfortunately all my photos are in the camera so I can’t upload them at the moment, but I’ll upload them later on as well as update some place names. I don’t remember the names of half the places we’ve been to.

Anyway, it’s 10:30pm and I have to get up at 6:20am tomorrow, so I’m going to call it a night. Visiting a horse farm tomorrow!