Update: March, 2015

I’ve started taking a translation course this month for two evenings a week, and I must say — translation/interpretation really isn’t what I thought it was! There are so many techniques to learn in translation, and being fluent in the subject or target languages does not mean that you can translate.

We are currently learning English -> Chinese written translations, and it made me feel quite inadequate in terms of my Chinese abilities, so I borrowed the Chinese translation of “The Great Gatsby” to: 1. improve my Chinese, and 2. study the translations in hope that I’ll learn something. (I absolutely love “The Great Gatsby”, and I was so happy to see that this Chinese translation did it justice)

In the end, I decided that written translation is not for me. Well, the oral translation part of the course will start in a couple of weeks, so maybe? Hopefully??

Leave a Reply

