Matchmaking

So on Sunday my family went out for lunch with another family (the Pan’s) because my dad wanted my sister and me to make more friends (and of course it’s his ultimate hope that they’ll become more than friends).

The lunch was at this Chinese restaurant, with those circular tables that spin. I don’t really like those restaurants because I’m so used to the Western style of eating, and I find the spinning tables to be a hassle.

Anyway, so the other family consisted of mom, dad, 2 sons, and a daughter (but the daughter didn’t come because she was busy). I’m just glad that my dad gets along so well with the other dad. It’s nice that my dad had a good time at lunch.

So after the round of introductions, the other family’s dad (I’m going to refer to him as Mr. Pan) said: “Oh, for Chinese New Year, my only wish is that my two sons here find girlfriends!” I must admit that even though I thought matchmaking is outdated and old-fashioned, I wouldn’t mind becoming his son’s friends. They are impressive in that they both graduated from the best school in Taiwan (NTU – National Taiwan University), one with a PhD, and the other now works for the government after getting the job through one of the toughest exams in Taiwan. Many people dream of getting that job and prepare years for it, but never getting it.

Throughout the whole lunch we kids didn’t talk to the Pan’s kids. That was okay though. I had fun kicking my sister’s foot when she said it fell asleep and occasionally making small talk with the parents. After the meal, we exchanged Line and Facebook and the like, and that was it! I was happy for the chance to meet more people since my social circle in Taiwan is very tiny, and even though I didn’t really get a chance to talk to the Pan brothers, they seem like honest people (one is 26 and the other is 29) and are good at studying, and also very quiet. I can see why my dad would like them though – their futures are solidly stable and financially secure. Every traditional Asian parent’s dream come true. I just want to make more friends.

One thought on “Matchmaking

Leave a Reply

