Demons

People often have stigma toward mental illness, and even though places like Canada and the US have become more open-minded, Taiwan still has a ways to go in terms of acceptance.

The other day at work, my coworkers were chatting about a coworker that used to work as a web designer for the company, but acted weird so everyone ostracized her. She ended up quitting (one of the reasons was because people didn’t want to take the elevator with her, and she could feel that she was being excluded). I think if it were me, I wouldn’t do that to her. I’d treat her like any other person, because nobody wants to feel like a freak.

Maybe because my aunt had schizophrenia in high school, and maybe because I grew up in an open-minded place like Canada. Maybe because people also ostracized me before. Maybe that’s why.

We all have our demons.

3 thoughts on “Demons

  1. I think one of the biggest reasons that people segregate themselves from others like that is because they don’t understand it. It takes a lot more effort and opening up to accept someone than to simply antagonize them. That being said, even when nobody else will, we can take the initiative and be kind to them!

Leave a Reply

