If I ever get married…

I attended a wedding this past weekend at the Grand Hotel in Taipei (The hotel is so oriental, and very beautiful). I never attended a wedding in all the 15 years that I lived in Canada, and the last wedding I attended was 10 years ago, in Taipei (for some uncle twice removed that I’ve never seen before in my life). That’s because most of my friends are not at that age yet, and even though I had 4 cousins who married one after another within a period of 6 months, none of them invited me to their weddings (because most of them just had church ceremonies, with no wedding banquets).

So, this time was the first time that I had the chance to really appreciate what happens at a wedding, and the first thing I thought to myself was: “Who am I going to invite to my wedding if I ever get married?” Most of the people I want to invite are all in Canada, and even though they would probably love to attend, the plane ticket to fly over would cost so much that most of them won’t be able to come.

I don’t have a lot of friends here in Taiwan (sadly). I think it’s really difficult to make friends once you’re done school and out in the real world. Most lasting friendships are formed in school, which is why I miss school, because I love to socialize and meet new people. This makes me appreciate my sister all the more. <3

At the wedding, the newly wed couple gave out personalized pink, red, and white M&Ms to every guest. They were specially ordered from the States! How cute~

image

Congratulations to the new couple. :) And I hope everyone finds their own happiness one day, whether it’s through marriage or staying single.

image

image

5 thoughts on “If I ever get married…

Leave a Reply

