All Hallows’ Eve

Happy Halloween! It feels strange to be celebrating Halloween here in Taiwan because only elementary school kids and young adults celebrate it here. It’s either those young kids who are in bilingual elementary schools/cram schools, or those who go clubbing that celebrate Halloween. Other than the occasional cafes and restaurants that decorate their walls and windows with pumpkins and cobwebs, it just can’t compare to Canada where some people go all out and decorate their entire house and turn it into a spooky mansion to scare trick-or-treaters.

image

How did I celebrate? I brought in a pumpkin box (Thanks for the delicious Halloween treata, CF!) to decorate my office space, painted my nails orange and black (Thanks for the lovely orange, Li~), and handed out candy to my coworkers.

Taiwan’s Halloween special? A magnitude 3 earthquake at 8pm tonight! I don’t recall any earthquakes when I lived in Canada, but I have already been through ~4 here in Taiwan since I’ve been back this June. Hopefully there won’t be any crazy big ones!

image

Happy Halloween, everyone~

Leave a Reply

