Google Sky Map

I recently discovered Google Sky Map. Just the other evening at the end of a jog, I stared up at the night sky and thought I saw the Milky Way. Pingtung is great for stargazing, because light pollution isn’t a big issue out here in the countryside. JR suggested that I install the Google Sky Map app into my phone so I’ll know exactly what I was seeing. Even though it wasn’t able to tell me if what I saw was indeed the Milky Way, I saw Saturn! It was a really bright dot in the sky, and since it wasn’t a star, it didn’t twinkle. I also saw the Big Dipper, and realized that what I had previously thought was the Big Dipper was actually some other constellation altogether! Well now I know. :) What a fun app!!

‘I saw Eternity the other night,
Like a great ring of pure and endless light,
All calm, as it was bright;
And round beneath it, Time in hours, days, years,
Driv’n by the spheres
Like a vast shadow mov’d; in which the world
And all her train were hurl’d.’

– Henry Vaughan

2 thoughts on “Google Sky Map

Leave a Reply

