Post-grad

After going to school for almost my entire life, it is strange to tell myself: “You don’t have school anymore”. It’s true though, the school days as I knew them are over (for now). I no longer have to wake up early on the first Tuesday of September to catch the bus and rush to my first lecture, and I miss that feeling. A part of me is relieved that I don’t have to study anymore, but a bigger part of me is sad that a chapter in my life has drawn to a close. Without school, without labs and homework assignments, I suddenly have all this free time on my hands.

The thought of “doing nothing” scared me, so I tried to find things to do. Now I realize that school actually took up a lot of my time. I used to love reading, but eventually I just couldn’t find the time to read anymore. Now I’m taking up reading again. I have just finished reading “Wide Sargasso Sea”, and now I’m halfway through “Eat, Pray, Love”.

In “Eat, Pray, Love”, Gilbert writes: “Americans have an inability to relax into sheer pleasure… [they] don’t really know how to do nothing“. It’s true, I always feel the need to do something, because doing nothing seems like such a waste of time. However, it might be the simplest form of enjoyment that there is. With all this extra time on my hands, I am starting to learn how to do “nothing”. Next May I will be moving back to Taiwan and starting a new life there, so between now and then, I have decided to use that time as a transition period to relax after all these years in school.

And thus begins the next chapter of my life.

One thought on “Post-grad

Leave a Reply

