Dealfind – Bad customer service

Dealfind, like Groupon, is one of the many websites that offers deals at discounted prices. However, unlike Groupon, they have horrible customer service and makes me question the way they deal with discussion board responses.

Currently there is a deal for afternoon tea at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver: $38 for 2 people ($76 value). Almost 9000 have been bought so far. The discussion board can be found here: http://www.dealfind.com/discuss.php?DiscussionID=16705&market=1

Dealfind is claiming that the 12% tax and 15% tip should be charged on the original value of $76. I understand the tip part, but tax on original value? Really? Since when did we have to pay tax for something valued at $76 when we only paid $38 out of our own pockets? Users on the discussion board have already called CRA and Revenue Canada to confirm that taxes should only be charged on the amount paid for, NOT what the actual value is. DealFind did not bother to call the Government of Canada to clarify anything for the customers, and instead, deleted user posts, copy/pasted unrelated answers, and avoided questions. I also had a post that was deleted by them:

The ironic thing is, DealFind had a Fairmont afternoon tea deal last year as well, however they dealt with it in quite a different manner:

http://www.dealfind.com/discuss.php?DiscussionID=1643&market=1

I understand that paying 12% tax on the original value of $76 IS still a deal, but again, it’s not a matter of money anymore, it’s a matter of principle. If DealFind is not willing to answer customers’ questions, then they can expect to be very unpopular in the near future. Groupon handles this kind of thing a lot differently than DealFind, and I think DealFind can do a lot to learn from them.

Also, as a side note, Fairmont’s original menu stated that afternoon tea is $36 per person. However, after the DealFind deal was released and customers pointed out this price difference, Fairmont changed the price  of afternoon tea to $38 per person. Hmm…

http://www.fairmont.com/NR/rdonlyres/F12DEE98-DB75-4BF3-A7F5-28CCD0280020/0/HVC_Afternoon_Tea_Jan11.pdf

Update:

Over 10,000 vouchers have been bought so far, so that’s over $47,000 in tax that consumers should not have to pay for. Are Fairmont and/or DealFind just pocketing that difference? It’s not just a matter of a few dollars anymore.

I would understand if DealFind or Fairmont had just said in the first place that discount is taken AFTER the final bill of $76 has been processed, but deleting/ignoring people’s comments makes me feel like they are hiding something. Otherwise, why not just come out and give a straight answer?

Thanks to Angela who actually called the HST/GST office, she found out about a form that can be filled out and submitted to the government if you feel like you have been taxed incorrectly:

Go to: http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/E/pbg/gf/gst189/gst189-12e.pdf for the form to get rebate on HST or see below:

gst hst rebate

12 thoughts on “Dealfind – Bad customer service

  1. Adrienne says:

    Right on! Thanks so much for writing this…this is my second dealings with Dealfind…the 1st was from a purchase I made in January and took 3 months to receive my product only after numerous e-mails and phone calls and trying to input information on another website and when you get to the shipping page, all of a sudden there is no way around it. They are charging for shipping and yet “Shipping Included” was in the deal! I wish that I had saved that conversation…I do have some bizarre e-mails though.

    My order was already paid to Dealfind and this other company won’t process your order unless you leave your credit card information…I mean really, why do I need to give my credit card information if I have already paid for the deal?

    I want a refund but they keep deleting my requests and not responding to my emails, oh and I called the Fairmont and left a message only to find when I returned home I had a message. It was from “Gloria at Griffins” who was calling me to make a reservation and completely ignored my questions that I left on the Voice Mail.

    I will from now on, read any deal I purchase with a fine toothed comb!

  2. keli says:

    dealfind is such a joke. they continue to delete posts that are pushing to provide an answer to the public as to why they are ignoring bc tax laws and going abouts ways themselves with Fairmont.

    i hope this spirals out into the news and media. it’s not fair that company’s like dealfind and fairmont to bully consumers into paying more than they should be when realistically, by law, we don’t have to.

  3. Sharon says:

    I thought I had done something when I noticed that my post had disappeared. Then when it happened again, I realized Dealfind was deleting posts if it was directed towards their unethical practice. I also pointed out that last year Fairmont had clarified the whole mess by saying tax should only be based on the discounted price, but no one said anything this time. Glad that you saved the posts from last year!

    Also, now Dealfind just keep avoiding the issue and have someone different each time to repeat the same answer like a broken record. I think you got them now! You have the proof.

    I have already requested for a refund via email but have not heard a word. This is very surprising to me as I have dealt with them in the past without problem, until now…

    I would be interested to see what the eventual outcome is after all the complaints, and if Dealfind and Fairmont will do the right thing. Now I will never feel the same way about ANY Fairmont affiliated services anymore.

    • Dear Sharon,
      I have just reviewed your post and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss your concerns. The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver has always and will continue to operate with full transparency when dealing with online promotions and we ask that our guests continue to have confidence in the product and service we have built our reputation on.
      My email address is ronan.barrett@fairmont.com.

      Kind regards,

      Ronan

      Ronan Barrett
      Regional Executive, Public Relations & Internet Marketing

  4. Dear Simple Affairs,
    I have just reviewed your post and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss your concerns. The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver has always and will continue to operate with full transparency when dealing with online promotions and we ask that our guests continue to have confidence in the product and service we have built our reputation on.
    My email address is ronan.barrett@fairmont.com.

    Kind regards,

    Ronan

    Ronan Barrett
    Regional Executive, Public Relations & Internet Marketing

  5. John Cox says:

    To Whom This May Concern:
    From London Ontario
    I too am having a rough time with Dealfind. Long story short – bought 4 “deals” was very dissatisfied with the service. I sent an email (because they do not accept calls) explaining my concerns. I received an email (3 weeks ago) asking how I’d like my money returned 1, Dealfind dollars or 2, back on my card. I chose card. I have not heard from them since. They will no longer respond to my emails. Nothing has been put back on my card. I am out almost $160.00. Plus having to deal with a company that should not have been allowed to offer Dealfinds. They should have been checked into, but it seems as long as Dealfind gets them on board they don’t care. Groupon has them “hands down.”
    Regards,
    John

Leave a Reply

