The Sandbar

Last night I went to the Sandbar to attend a friend’s birthday party. It has been forever since I went to Granville Island, and whenever I do go, it was only for the public market. So eating there was an entirely new experience for me.

The Sandbar is located at 1535 Johnston St. Granville Island Vancouver. It is actually a bit tricky to find if you have never been there.. It’s located behind a souvenir shop; past a silk store, all the way by the water. When I got there, it was just a bit past 7pm. The first floor had a sushi bar and it did not appear to be too busy.. That was, until I got up to the second floor. It was really lively up there! The restaurant looks like a large wooden cabin. The scenery was amazing as well.

The interior of the Sandbar Restaurant

Our hostess for the night was really friendly and helpful. The complementary bread was the first to be served. It was a crusty white bread with butter on the side to spread. The bread was still warm when it arrived and it went perfectly with the bread. Next, my 7oz. sirloin steak arrived.

7oz. CAB sirloin $19CAD

My medium rare steak arrived after a 2o minute wait. The garlic mashed potatoes were a bit cold for my taste, but other than that, this steak was great! It was tender and juicy. The asparagus and tomatoes were not too salty (unlike the ones I had at Mosaic). The bourbon peppercorn demi-glaze also went very well with the meat. The 7oz was a perfect size for me. I was satisfied but not too full in the end.

Ratings:

Service 5/5
Food 4/5
Value 3/5
Overall: 4/5

This restaurant is located on Granville Island so naturally the price would be a bit pricier than usual. I did not feel like seafood last night so I did not try any of the fish or mussels. However, I was happy with my steak. It wasn’t spectacular, but it satisfied my craving for meat.

The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

