Red Velvet Cupcakes

On Saturday night I needed a little break from final exam studying, so I decided to bake some cupcake with my sister. My favorite cupcakes are red velvet cupcakes. I love the cream cheese frosting and the red of the cupcakes is very pretty. I usually buy red velvet cupcakes from the Original cupcakes store by Heather and Lori, but there are a couple of problems with that: 1. They are a bit expensive. 2. They always run out of red velvet cupcakes.. It’s one of their most popular flavors.

I found the recipe from Joy of Baking, a wonderful website that offers a lot of great recipes.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

The texture is soft and moist!

Red Velvet Cupcakes (Recipe courtesy of Joyofbaking.com)

(Yield: 12 cupcakes)

1 1/4 cups (125 grams) sifted cake flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoons (10 grams) regular or Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1/4 cup (57 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cups (150 grams) granulated white sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup (120 ml) buttermilk
1 tablespoon liquid red food coloring
1/2 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Cream Cheese Frosting:

4 ounces (113 grams) cream cheese, room temperature
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup (30 grams) confectioners’ (icing or powdered) sugar, sifted
1/3 cup (80 ml) cold heavy whipping cream (double cream) (35-40% butterfat)

**********

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175C) and line 12 muffin tins with paper cupcake liners.

2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, salt and cocoa powder.

3. Using an electric mixer (or by hand, which is a lot more tedious), beat the butter until soft (1-2 mins). Add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy (2-3 mins). Beat in the egg. Finally, beat in the vanilla extract.

4. In a separate cup, whisk the buttermilk with the red food colouring. Then add half the flour mixture into the butter mixture, mix. Add in the buttermilk mixture, mix. Finally, add in the rest of the flour mixture and mix.

5. In a small cup, combine vinegar and baking soda. The mixture should start fizzing immediately. Add that to the batter and quickly fold it in.

6. Quickly pour the batter into the muffin cups, smooth the tops with the back of  a spoon and bake in the oven for around 18-23 minutes.

Cool completely before frosting.

For the Frosting:

Beat the cream cheese until smooth, then add in the vanilla and confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar) and beat until smooth. Gradually add in the heavy cream and mix until the frosting is thick enough to pipe. Add more cream and/or sugar as needed until the right consistency is achieved.

I didn’t follow this recipe exactly to the dot. I used artificial vanilla extract instead of the real thing and I didn’t have butter so I opted margarine instead. Also, sis and I made our own buttermilk from whole milk. To do this, just add white vinegar to milk. The ratio is 1 cup milk to 1 tbsp white vinegar. Set it aside for 5 minutes before using.

In the end, the final product turned out pretty well! The frosting was a bit runny for my liking but it hardened after it had cooled for some time in the fridge. The frosting was the tastiest part, but the cupcakes themselves aren’t too bad either! I don’t think it’s worse than the store. Next time I’ll make my own red velvet cupcakes at home instead of buying out. When I can find the time, of course. That shouldn’t be too much of a problem since summer term will not be as stressful as winter.. At least I hope not.

It kind of scared me though while making the cupcakes just how much red food colouring goes into these delicious cupcakes. Next time I might opt to skip the food colouring if I’m baking them for myself at home..

Red velvet cupcake batter

7 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

