Dineout Vancouver 2011

Last Friday I went to Hyatt’s Mosaic Bar and Grill (located at 655 Burrard St.) for the first dineout of 2011. The atmosphere was really nice there and the server who helped us was super friendly.

Mosaic interior (restaurant side)

Mosaic interior (Bar side)

We came because we wanted to eat out for the annual Dineout Vancouver event that happens at the start of every year. There were 3 catgeories to choose from: $18, $28, $38. We finally settled on this place ($28).

We were seated right next to the window, overlooking a busy part of downtown Vancouver. The night view was very pretty from the comfortable place we were sitting, away from the chilly winds that blew outside.

Dineout Menu

I ordered the squash soup, rib eye steak, and tiramisu. My sister ordered something from the regular menu (a black cod). After much waiting and anticipation, the food finally arrived!

First came the appetizers:

Roasted Squash Soup - Winter Squash, Smoked Gruyere Cheese, Crispy Crouton

Fire Roasted Grape Salad - Organic greens, pumpkin seed, Goat Cheese, Sherry Walnut Vinaigrette

Bread and butter

The soup was very good and it tasted sweet and flavorful; it reminded me of Japanese pumpkin. Croutons are also one of my favorite and it soaked up the soup very nicely. The bread was also soft and went really well with the butter. I thought the salad was a bit on the sour side because of the vinaigrette and tasted strongly of goat (I personally don’t like goat cheese), but overall it wasn’t too bad.

Next came the entrees:

Rib Eye Steak - Mushroom Ragu, Grilled Brocolini, Anchovy Butter Bread Crumb, Sauce au Poivre

Ling Cod - Parsley Lemon Butter Crust, Sautéed Kale, Potato Fondant

Baked Black Cod - Queen Charlotte Black Cod with Miso and Sake Marinade, Dungeness Crab, Braised Potato, Spicy Prawn Bisque

The black cod was the one that my sister ordered from the regular menu. It’s not part of the dineout menu.

I have to say that I was pretty disappointed with the entrees.. The steak was good but I didn’t understand why they had to fry the vegetables instead of just boiling it. The sauce on the steak was extremely salty; at least they didn’t overcook it. It was just as I had requested (medium rare). As for the ling cod, the parsley lemon butter crust was really sour (thanks to the lemon). Otherwise the ling cod also tasted pretty good. The most disappointing order of all had to be the black cod.. The sauce was way too salty and made with so much mayonnaise that in the end my sister had to trade with my mom (she ordered the ling cod) since she couldn’t finish it all by herself. The taste was too heavy and overpowered the fish itself, even though it was very good at first. The subtle hint of crab in the sauce was a nice touch.

Last of all, the desserts:

Apple Gallette - Warm Caramelized Apple Crumble, Vanilla Créme Anglaise

Tiramisu - Lady finger soaked in espresso, Kahlua Mascarpone Cream

The desserts, I have to say, was my favorite part of this entire dineout experience. The apple gallete was warm and the vanilla ice cream topped on the apple pie tasted wonderful together! I liked it better than the tiramisu since tiramisu always tastes like tiramisu. The chocolate covered cookie balls on the tiramisu tasted great though!

I would give Mosaic an overall score of 6.5/10.

It has good ambiance, good service, but it really needs to improve on some of their food. The entrees were too salty and heavy in taste. I don’t think I would be returning again, even though the manager gave us some 2-for-1 coupons before we left. This was my first Dineout Vancouver experience. I can’t wait to try out more places next year!

Mosaic on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dineout Vancouver 2011

Leave a Reply

