Ebisu

After eating raw oysters for the first time at the Boathouse in White Rock, I have been looking for other good oyster places. After hearing about Ebisu’s happy hour menu including sushi and drink discounts as well as $1 oysters, I had to go check it out!

The happy hour menu is only available at the downtown Robson location, between 4:30 and 6:30pm.

The first time that I went was on a weekend at 6pm, and it was really crowded and dark inside the restaurant so I didn’t take any pictures. We ordered sushi, sashimi, nachos, chicken wings, and oysters. The sashimi was a disappointment. It was actually nigiri sushi. The sushi were small and plain and with the happy hour menu, I guess the price was okay, but at original price definitely not worth it. Jalapeno shrimps looked great in the picture, but in reality were just a handful of deep fried shrimps on a huge pile of fries. Nachos were the only thing that filled us up that night. The oysters were great though, and the chicken wings were not bad either, so I went back to Ebisu a second time with Mochi to get those again as well as take some pictures.

We arrived at 4:30pm, and it wasn’t busy at all, which was nice. I found the place to be too loud and crowded for my liking the first time I went.

Mochi and I only had one thing in mind: raw oysters, and so right off the bat we ordered 20 oysters as well as a pint of honey lager.

Raw Oysters - $0.99/oyster
4/5

The oysters tasted very fresh, and they also provided Tabasco sauce, green onion, and the usual oyster sauce for taste. I thought the plating was very nice, and putting the oysters on a bed of ice keeps them cool and fresh. Mochi informed me that the oysters at the Horseshoe Bay Boathouse has even better sauce, so I must try that next!

Honey Lager - $3.99
4/5

There’s not much to say about this one. I’m not too knowledgeable when it comes to beer. To me, beer is beer. It was good though!

After having all that, we decided to order 10 pieces of chicken wings since I thought it was pretty good last time. I forgot to take a picture until there were only two more left! Apologies for the bad picture. ><

Chicken wings with honey garlic sauce - $0.39/wing
4/5

The wings here are different than the chicken wings that I am used to. I am used to eating the soft kind that they serve at Boston Pizza, but these taste crispy because the wings have been fried prior to being dipped in the sauce.

Overall, I would go back to Ebisu for their oysters and wings, but I wouldn’t want to get their sushi and “sashimi” again. There are better sushi elsewhere, but not everywhere serves oysters for only $1/pc!
Ebisu on Robson on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “Ebisu

Leave a Reply

