Midam Rice Cake House

Last time SarahBear, IKo and I were deciding on a place for dessert when SarahBear suggested Midam Rice Cake House. I have heard MilkTea mention it before, and it received good reviews on Urbanspoon, so we decided to give Midam a try.

The address on Urbanspoon says that Midam is in Burnaby, but it is actually more in Coquitlam. I have never travelled to Coquitlam via the skytrain before, so it was quite an interesting experience! Midam was located just a few minutes walk from the skytrain station, and it’s located in Korean Town. There are many Korean restaurants, as well as H-mart (I only knew about the Downtown and Aberdeen H-marts! Didn’t know that there was one there as well~). It took us a while to find Midam, because it’s kind of hidden away in a corner. If you are looking for it, just follow the sign located above H-mart.

Entrance to Midam Rice Cake House - Just follow the sign (and the sakura symbol!)

There was only one other table in the large restaurant since it was a cold and rainy afternoon. Upon entering the restaurant, I felt like I was stepping from Canada to Korea. The tables and chairs were all made of wood, and there were wooden cabinets inside the restaurant and against the walls. There were Korean clothing hung up on the walls, and cute replicas of rice cakes.

Interior of Midam Rice Cake House

Rice cake models on display

Tiny toy models on display

More rice cake models

We were seated promptly and given menus. Midam offers a variety of different parfaits and shaved ice, as well as drinks and savoury items (hot pot).

Dessert Menu (page 1)

Dessert Menu (page 2)

Unfortunately I did not get a picture of their shaved ice menu.

While browsing through the menu, I saw a red button on the table and wondered what it was. SarahBear told me that it was a call button used to call a server over to the table. IKo also told me that Japan had these call buttons too. I think that it’s an ingenious idea! If only all the restaurants in Canada can also adopt this idea, then I would never have to worry about not being ready when the waiter comes by to ask for orders.

Call button to summon the server

Now onto the actual desserts:

This was my order. It consisted of a layer of chocolate pudding, some cornflakes, vanilla pudding, more chocolate pudding, topped off with a scoop of chocolate ice cream, whipped cream, a slice of banana, and a piece of milk chocolate. The pudding tasted very normal (like the packaged kind you would find in a store), so there wasn’t really anything special about this parfait. If I go back to Midam, I will definitely order something else.

Green Tea Parfait $6.99

IKo ordered the green tea parfait. It was topped with green tea ice cream, some rice cakes and sponge cake chunks around it, and filled with red bean and more ice cream. It looked really good and IKo said she enjoyed it a lot!

Green Tea Shaved Ice $8.99

This one was SarahBear’s green tea shaved ice. It was a bowl of shaved ice, topped with red bean, walnut pieces, condensed milk, and a scoop of green tea ice cream. The shaved ice was surrounded by chunks of handmade rice cakes dipped in green tea powder. This looked very good and I will probably order this the next time I pay Midam a visit!

Overall, I felt like the parfaits were a bit pricey, but compared to Chicco downtown, the prices here are a lot more reasonable. It is impossible to find cheap Korean or Japanese food in Vancouver, so I think Midam Rice Cake House pulled it off quite well! Next time I want to try their Korean hot pot as well.

Midam Rice Cake House on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “Midam Rice Cake House

  1. I think their parfait prices are a bit steep for me but I’m sure the quality is worth it.

    I love their rice cake goodies as it is very fresh and good quality. Now I’m craving some.

    • @Holly: Yeah, I totally agree with you on that. The best place to get cheap and yummy parfaits is still in Asia.
      However a lot of the things can be shared with a friend, like the shaved ice, so that helps with the cost. :)

Leave a Reply

