Jean Philippe Patisserie

Over the Christmas holiday when I was in Las Vegas, I had the chance to visit Jean Philippe Patisserie. There are two on the strip; one in Bellagio and one in Aria. The one in Bellagio is the original one, with the world’s largest chocolate fountain that holds the Guinness World Records, measuring 8m tall.

The chocolate fountain in Jean Philippe's. The mirrors above the fountain create the illusion that there is chocolate flowing towards the ceiling.

I have never heard about Jean Philippe Patisserie until I saw it in Las Vegas,  but Milk Tea informed me that they are famous for their desserts. Of course we had to try it, since they don’t have Jean Philippe’s in Vancouver!

On our last night in Vegas, we decided to have a late midnight snack in Aria’s Jean Philippe, which is conveniently located right across from our hotel (Vdara).

A long line-up in Jean Philippe's at Aria

When we arrived, it was already 11pm, and yet the line-up was still so long! It was beautiful inside though, and everything looked fancy and delicious. From gelato to chocolates, the choice was endless.

Candies and chocolates

Sandwiches and panini's

Crepe and toppings

Chocolates at Jean Philippe's

I heard from Milk Tea that their chocolates are not that good, considering that they are quite expensive so it’s not worth the price.

Cakes and pastries

More cakes and pastries

Gelato

There was a really long line-up for the gelato, so it must be very good! I wanted to try some, but I was craving for something savory so I made up my mind to get their crepe.

Crepe with chicken breast, mushrooms, and Mozzarella cheese 5/5

I think all of the savory crepes at Jean Philippe’s are made from buckwheat, which gives the crepes a brown colour. This crepe was one of the best crepes I have ever had. I was pleasantly surprised that it came with a side of salad (which was a delicious blend of cherry tomatoes, arugula, and other greens). The crepe had everything I enjoyed inside it: cheese, mushrooms, chicken. It was a bit pricey, like everything else on the menu, but it did not disappoint.

Sweet crepe with caramelized bananas and whipped cream 4/5

This was Mochi’s crepe. He prefers sweet crepes over savory ones, so he decided to try the one with caramelized bananas and whipped cream. I thought it was interesting how the sweet crepes and savory crepes were folded and filled differently. The savory crepes had filling inside the crepe and folded into the triangular shape that I am used to seeing, whereas the sweet crepes had the fillings placed on top and was folded into a rectangular shape.

The trays used to hold the crepes are very beautiful too. The packaging is first class here! If you request your crepes to go, they have large lids to put on top of the trays as to not squish the crepes.

Raspberry tart 3/5

This was Milk Tea’s raspberry tart. It was made with fresh raspberries and filled with a pistachio and raspberry filling. The raspberries were a bit sour, and balanced out the sweetness of the tart below. I thought the design was very creative as well.

Tiramisu 5/5

JL had the tiramisu. I tried a small bite, and it tasted like heaven. It was topped off with Oreo crumbles and two pieces of handmade marshmallow cubes. The layers of cream and chocolate below were not too sweet, and melted in my mouth. I would definitely get this the next time I’m back at Jean Philippe’s!

Overall, Jean Philippe Patisserie was pricey; but for the great quality food that you get, it was well worth the splurge.
Jean Philippe Patisserie (Aria) on Urbanspoon

3 responses to “Jean Philippe Patisserie

Leave a Reply

