Cheesecake Factory

I am back from the Portland trip and I miss it there already! I had such a good time there. It was 3 full days of shopping, eating and sleeping. The majority of the time was spent on the road (sadly). I had wanted to visit more places but after spending an entire day at the Woodburn outlet mall, I realized that wouldn’t be possible.

So the highlight of the trip was dinner at Cheesecake Factory in Washington Square, Portland. I have heard so many rave reviews from friends about the place so I really wanted to try it out!

Upon arrival at Washington Square, I immediately noticed the Cheesecake Factory. Even though we got there at 8:30pm, there was still a crowd of people inside.

Cheesecake Factory exterior

The interior of the restaurant was really pretty. A friend compared it to the restaurants in Las Vegas? I wouldn’t know since I’ve never been to Las Vegas.. yet!

Interior of the restaurant (near the entrance)

Pretty lights

Cheesecake factory is separated into three different areas: restaurant, bar and bakery. After I’m 21 I would like to visit the bar section. It’s too bad that the drinking age in the States is so high.

Restaurant area

Bakery area

Bar area

The server was very friendly and seated us promptly after a table cleared up. First, the complimentary bread arrived while we pondered from their large menu what to order for dinner.

Complimentary rye and sourdough bread with butter

The bread was warm and very delicious! The rye bread was a hit with everyone at the table. We had to ask for seconds.

The drinks came next. Mochi ordered a strawberry fruit smoothie. OmNom wanted to order a skinny Margarita but she wasn’t 21 yet.. (Darn the drinking age in the States!) so JL ordered it instead.

Strawberry Fruit Smoothie $5.95USD

Skinny Magarita on the rocks

I had a sip of both drinks and they were both very good. The margarita tasted sweet and citrus with a kick at the end while the strawberry smoothie was very refreshing! I find it to be too big for one person though so this drink would be better shared between two people.

Next, the mains. I ordered a Factory combination: Chicken Madeira and Steak Diane.

Chicken Madeira and Steak Diane $19.95USD

I was not impressed with the server who gave me my order. The plate was flaming hot and instead of placing it on the table for me, he placed it directly onto my hands. Needless to say, my fingers got burned by the hot ceramic plate. That was my only complaint for the night.

As for the food, the chicken breast was really moist and flavorful. The melted mozzarella cheese on top of the chicken completed the dish! The Chicken Madeira was the best chicken breast that I have ever had.

As for the Steak Diane, I asked for my steak to be done medium rare, and it was exactly that. The steak was tender and paired very well with the fresh greens. However, I did find this dish to be a bit on the saltier side.

This dish was too much to be finished by me alone. I had to leave quite a bit of the mashed potato behind (Thanks OmNom for helping me finish some!)

For dessert, all of us shared a slice of Red Velvet Cheesecake.

Ultimate Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake ~$8USD

(The strawberry doesn’t actually come with the cake. Mochi took it off of his strawberry smoothie and stuck it on to garnish the cake.)

This was the best cheesecake that I have ever had in my entire life! The cheesecake was creamy and soft. It didn’t leave me feeling too full and it wasn’t too heavy. The red velvet part was also very tasty. (Red velvet is my favorite cake flavor) The white chocolate curls on the side of the cake and the whipping cream both added a bit of sweetness to this divine creation.

I will definitely be going back for more of their food, especially for their cheesecakes!

Ratings

Food 5/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5

Cheesecake Factory on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “Cheesecake Factory

  1. yumm, the cheesecake was so delish :)
    Loved the decor of the restaurant~ Can’t wait to go back again the next time we’re in the States! :D

Leave a Reply

